Christmas Tree cupcakes

So, I was too busy during Christmas to upload this recipe. I made these cupcakes for the Christmas meal we do every year with few friends and they were an absolute success! I got the idea from this video that is really helpful because they explain the step-by step of how to make them.

First you just need to make your favourite chocolate cupcake recipe. Choose a simple plane one it will work better with the overall flavouring.

IMG_2647

Then prepare your buttercream and add green food colouring until you get the shade you want. I had to add a lot of it because I wanted a vibrant Chritmas tree green.

Put it in a piping bag with a star tip; I think I used a star decorating tip #3.

IMG_2649

Then wash your strawberries and dry them thoroughly, any moist left on the strawberry will spoil the buttercream. I used kitchen towels to make sure they absorb all the water. Cut the strawberry steams and leafs making a nice flat surface where they can rest upright. (Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this step) And we’re ready to start decorating!

IMG_2648

So, the fist thing you want to do is to put some buttercream on top of the cupcake, like so:

IMG_2651

Then put a strawberry on top of the buttercream, this will act as glue sticking the strawberry to the cupcake. Do that with all your cupcakes:

IMG_2650

Then with your star tip, pipe all around the strawberry starting from the bottom up to the top.

For me it worked quite well to sit down at the table and to pout the cupcakes on top of a closed jar to give them some hight and not break my back in the process of decorating.

IMG_2655

You should end up with something like this:

IMG_2652

Once you’ve done all the cupcakes you can proceed to decorate the “trees”.

I used Wonka Nerds and white chocolate stars sprinkles but you can use whatever you want.

It works quite well to put the cupcakes on a tray as you have to throw the Nerds to the buttercream in order for them to stick to it… It was fun!

IMG_2656

They look something like this:

IMG_2659 IMG_2661

I also tried another decoration for few of them using silver pearls instead of Nerds, I had to put the pearls one by one on these but they look more elegant and classy:

IMG_2668

And I ended up with a little forest of delicious chocolate Christmas tree cupcakes!

IMG_2671 IMG_2674

Hope you enjoyed this post! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

